Research Databases

A B C E F H K L M N O P S T V W
List of research database titles, descriptions and links
about:books

about:books

Information about books and authors.

Use this resource
African American Heritage database

African American Heritage

Essential historical records about African Americans and African American history.

Use this resource
Open book with reading glasses representing American & English Literature database

American & English Literature

Contains many works of poetry, drama, and prose based on books and other sources originally published in print.

Use this resource
Ancestory database for family history - library edition

Ancestry Library Edition

(In-library use only) U. S. Census records; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; petitions for naturalization; passenger lists and more. You must be in the library to access this database.

Use this resource
US Capitol building with blue sky and puffy white clouds

AtoZ The USA

Bringing history to life in a beautifully illustrated resource.

Use this resource
Arched stone bridge with city in background

AtoZ The World

Covering 174 countries' history, cultures, languages, foods, religions and more.

Use this resource
Mt Rushmore representing Biography Reference Bank

Biography Reference Bank

Find biographies, obituaries, and photographs of thousands of individuals – both living and deceased. 

Use this resource
Graph with large up arrow representing Business Source Premier database

Business Source Premier

Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.

Use this resource
Old red car representing Chilton Auto Repair Library

Chilton Library

Find step-by-step vehicle repair instructions, maintenance schedules, diagrams, recalls, and more. 

Use this resource
Clear gel pills spilling out of bottle representing Consumer Health Complete database

Consumer Health Complete

Covers all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.

Use this resource
Brain illustration with computer wiring in background representing EBSCO Host databases

Ebscohost (All)

All EbscoHost databases, which include many thousands of full-text magazine and journal titles organized into a variety of sub-collections.

Use this resource
Space background for Explora for grades 6-12 database

Explora for grades 6-12

Student research tool for grades 6 through 12.

Use this resource
Colorful tree frog representing Explora database for grades K - 5

Explora for grades K-5

Student research tool for grades K through 5.

Use this resource
Explora homepage image

Explora for Public Libraries

Find articles, essays and primary source documents on a variety of popular topics with easy-to-browse categories.

Use this resource
Flipster screenshot

Flipster

Instant access to the magazines you know and love in an easy-to-read digital format.

Use this resource
Historical photo of men in uniform representing Fold3 military database

Fold3

US military records, including stories, photos & documents

Use this resource
Old books tied up with string representing HeritageQuest database

HeritageQuest

Genealogical and historical sources with coverage dating back as early as the 1700s. Includes federal census, local and family histories, Revolutionary War records, Freedman’s Bank Records, and links to the US Congressional Serial Set.

Use this resource
Colorful craft supplies representing Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center database

Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center

Detailed “how-to” instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines.

Use this resource
Electric connector and volt meter representing Home Improvement database

Home Improvement Reference Center

Detailed, user-friendly “how-to” information covering a variety of home improvement and repair projects.

Use this resource
Hoopla Screenshot 2019-04

Hoopla

Access digital video, music, comics, e-book, and audiobook titles for use on your computer, smartphone, tablet, or television streaming device.
Use this resource
Kanopy Kids Homepage

Kanopy Kids Movies

Stream educational and enriching videos for children of all ages with the Kanopy app on computers, smartphones, and tablets.
Use this resource
Kanopy

Kanopy Movies

Stream features, documentaries, and independent films with the Kanopy app on computers, smartphones, and tablets.

Use this resource
Kids InfoBits Homepage

Kids InfoBits

Easy-to-use digital resource featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics.
Use this resource
Dark blue background with faint computer image

LinkedIn Learning

Over 6,600 courses to learn business, software, technology, and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals from real-world experts. Formerly known as Lynda.com. For instructions on how to get started, visit here.

Use this resource
Book with pages fanned out representing Literary Reference database

Literary Reference Center

Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. Includes plot summaries, critical essays, biographies, and more.

Use this resource
Medline Plus Homepage

MedlinePlus

Reliable, up-to-date, and free information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. Published by the National Library of Medicine and contains no advertising or endorsements.
Use this resource
Novelist Homepage

NoveList

Helps readers find their next favorite book with read-a-likes, series info, author biographies, and more. Readers’ advisory info.
Use this resource
Nuwav Legal Documents Homepage

Nuwav Legal Documents

Solve common legal problems with this comprehensive library of legal documents, forms, and letters
Use this resource
Ohio History Connection Homepage

Ohio History Connection

Explore Ohio history through stories, photos, videos, and events.
Use this resource
Young man wearing headphones listening to OverDrive digital collection

OverDrive

Borrow ebooks and audiobooks to read or listen to on your computer or mobile device.

Use this resource
Stack of encyclopedias representing Oxford Research Encyclopedia database

Oxford Research Encyclopedias

Provides collections of in-depth, up-to-date trustworthy research on an ever-growing range of topics, including the humanities, social sciences, and science.

Use this resource
Arrows pointing different directions representing Points of View Reference database

Points of View Reference Center

Examine over 400 controversial topics from at least two sides (point and counterpoint).

Use this resource
Practice Tests from OhioMeansJobs Homepage

Practice Tests from OhioMeansJobs

Create an account with OhioMeansJobs – or use anonymously – to gain access to practice tests such as GED practice tests, college preparation tests, career practice tests and more.
Use this resource
Salem Press Online Collection Homepage

Salem Press Online Collection

Access Salem Health, History, and Literature online reference books, including Magill’s Medical Guide, Decades of America, This is Who We Were, Working Americans, and more.
Use this resource
Black and white historical map representing Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps database

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Over 40,000 detailed maps of Ohio cities drawn between 1882 and 1962.

Use this resource
Female scientist with safety glasses representing Scicene Reference database

Science Reference Center

Designed for the student researcher. Contains full text of hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books, and a vast collection of images.

Use this resource
Small store with lots of bottles, cans and large wall menus representing Small Business Reference database

Small Business Reference Center

A collection of state-specific resources supported with demographic data and tools to address many small business topics. Includes business videos, a help and advice section, and details on how to create business plans.

Use this resource
Cartoon of airport waiting area representing Transparent Languages database

Transparent Languages

Learn 100+ languages at home or on the go with a mobile device. Also offers ESL (English as a Second Language) for over 25 languages.

Use this resource
Colorful background stripes for Very Short Introductions database

Very Short Introductions

Quick, authoritative, and accessible overviews on a range of subjects in the arts and humanities, law, medicine & health, science & mathematics, and social sciences.

Use this resource
Icons representing subjects in World Book database

World Book

The classic homework tool is for searching on a variety of topics, including articles, audio clips, video clips, images, and timelines. Includes links for the Spanish and French versions of World Book.

Use this resource
Cartoon gorilla representing World Book Early World of Learning database

World Book Early World of Learning

Contains three learning environments for young learners in early elementary grades.

Use this resource
Husky dogs pulling snow sled representing World Book for Kids database

World Book Kids Encylopedia

Designed for grades 1 through 4 featuring thousands of articles, images & illustrations, teacher resources, and more

Use this resource
World Book Student Homepage

World Book Student

Search World Book Encyclopedia articles, a Biography Center, dictionary, atlas and much more.
Use this resource