Logan Elm HS - 2016 Battle Over Books Champions

Logan Elm HS – 2016 Battle Over Books Champions

The seventh annual Pickaway County High School Battle Over Books competition was held March 18 at the Ohio Christian University. Eight teams representing all four high schools in Pickaway County participated, plus teams from Logan Hocking High School. In all, 65 students competed in the event.

Teams earned points in a quiz-show format by correctly answering questions identifying of one of the 12 books on the reading list. This year’s books included such titles as “The Shift,” a non-fiction title by Theresa Brown, RN; “Challenger Deep” by Neal Shusterman; “Frankenstein” by Mary Shelley; “The Heir” by Kiera Cass; and “Ready Player One” by Ernest Cline.

Logan Elm High School reclaimed the championship trophy. Pictured is Logan Elm’s winning team (left to right) Kaitlynn Esquibel, Emma Baldinger, Tiffany Smolinski, Elizabeth Paul and Brittany Irwin. Other competitors from Logan Elm were Avery King, Brandi Grambo, Zane Stant, Nash Crosby, Lisa Bailey, Piper Stulley, Paege Trachsel and Alex Polacek. The team was coached by teacher librarian Jarod Lloyd.

Teays Valley High School was the runner up this year. The team was coached by teacher librarian Lisa Campbell.

Volunteers from the Friends of the Pickaway County District Public Library served as scorekeepers, judges and timers. They included Sharyn Blecha, Carol Bowling, Elaine Cook, Lynn Kraus, Gary Wasmer and Lyndsey Haas. Barbara Meister acted as host for Ohio Christian University. Michelle Callahan from the Pickaway County Public Library helped coordinate the event.

The Middle School Battle Over Books was held May 9 at Ohio Christian University. The winning team was Hilliard Memorial’s seventh grade team, which defeated Hilliard Weaver’s eighth grade team by just 3 points. Circleville and Westfall teams competed in the semi-finals. Other schools in the competition were Canal Winchester, Groveport Madison, Hilliard Heritage, Logan Hocking and Upper Arlington. Volunteer officials for the event included Karla Barnes, Kay Egbert, Alice Harker, Paula Prindle and Gary Wasmer.